EU Upper Band Country List

ETSI EN 302 2018-1 v3.1.1, “Radio Frequency Identification Equipment operating in the band 865 MHz to 868 MHz with power levels up to 2 W and in the band 915 MHz to 921 MHz with power levels up to 4 W,” will be revised to allow UHF RFID operation using three channels over 916.1-918.9 MHz with 4 W ERP and 400 kHz TX bandwidth and without using DAA (detect and avoid). The changes are documented in “Commission Implementing Decision (EU) 2018/1538 of 11 October 2018” and will be incorporated into ETSI EN 302 208-1 v3.2.1 targeted for release in 1H 2020.

Acceptance of EU 2018/1538 varies by country. The following table summarizes Impinj’s understanding of country acceptance as of March 2020. Impinj recommends contacting the country’s communications ministry for confirmation.

Status EU Member States CEPT Countries
Accepted Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Cyprus, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Hungary, Slovenia, Latvia, Malta Belarus (lower 2 channels), Bosnia and Herzegovina, Georgia, Iceland, North Macedonia (lower 2 channels), Montenegro (lower 2 channels), Moldova (lower 2 channels), Norway, Switzerland (lower 2 channels)
Accepted with license Austria, Belgium (lower 2 channels), Lithuania, Greece, Sweden  
Acceptance anticipated France (with license), Ireland, Luxembourg (with DAA), Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovak Republic, Spain United Kingdom
Considering or Status Unknown Italy Albania, Andorra, Azerbaijan, Liechtenstein, Monaco, Russia, San Marino, Serbia, Turkey, Ukraine, Vatican
Not accepting Germany, Netherlands  
Was this article helpful?
2 out of 2 found this helpful


1 comment
  • Country list updated with latest known status.

    Comment actions Permalink

Article is closed for comments.